I’m Not Yet Dead

Proof of life: March 1st, 2015.

We’ve reached critical mass at Winter. Sympathy for me probably is (and should be) in short supply, given that I was given a blessedly long reprieve in December by vacationing in several warm and sunny climes. But now I’m back in the pseudo-real world.

Classes are going well, though the reading has been quite dense and soporific as of late. Really, my expectations as to which class I would enjoy more have turned out to be misguided; I originally thought that America in the 1850s would hold my attention much more than Milton and His Influence, but I’ve found myself incredibly fascinated and moved by Milton and his poetry (we’re just getting into Paradise Lost now), while my readings for the other course, which up to this point have consisted of Abolitionist and Evangelical narratives (and Walden), have left me yawning, for the most part. I’m beginning to feel a little overwhelmed, but I think that will pass as I get more into the groove of things, and as it warms up (I find it much easier to focus and generally take care of myself when it’s not freezing outside).

I also got a part-time job at Video Free Brooklyn, thus finally realizing my lifelong dream of being a snotty video store clerk (the store being located in Cobble Hill=Hipster Points +1000). It’s only one day a week, which should square well with my other obligations, I hope, and I’m looking forward to it immensely. My relationship with “da pictures” has been strained lately, and I’m looking forward to jumping back in with open arms (he said, mixing his metaphors).

I have two ideas for longer posts…one about the media shitstorm surrounding Dez Bryant and an alleged videotape that almost certainly does not exist, and the other about the terrible, boring, but paradoxically intriguing film After Last Season. I wonder if Aaron would fire me if I put that on at the store. It’s a conversation starter to be sure.

Ta-ta for now.

Leave a Reply

